What is Toyota Safety Sense (TSS)?

November 15th, 2016 by

Toyota Safety Sense

In March of 2016, the IIHS and U.S. Department of Transportation’s National Highway Traffic Safety Administration announced that Automatic Emergency Braking (AEB) would be standard for 99-percent of the US auto industry by September of 2022. Toyota is so committed to safety that the automaker has a similar goal with an earlier target date. Not only does Toyota plan to make AEB standard on all of its models by the end of 2017, but several additional safety features will be standard as well, putting Toyota four years ahead of the rest of the auto market. This standardized safety package is called Toyota Safety SenseTM (TSS).

The ultimate goal of Toyota is to end auto accident fatalities and injuries and Toyota Safety Sense is a step in the right direction. TSS comes with features that not only keep drivers and passengers safe, but pedestrians as well. Most vehicular collisions happen due to poor night vision, lane departure, and other preventable issues. Toyota Safety Sense works to actively and passively assist drivers with preventing the unforeseen from occurring. Features included with the Toyota Safety Sense packages include:

  • Automated pre-collision warning and braking
  • Pre-Collision System with vehicle detection and or Pedestrian Detection (PCS w/ PD)
  • Lane Departure Alert (LDA) with or without Steering assistance (LDA W/SA)
  • Automatic High Beams (AHB)
  • Dynamic Radar Cruise Control (DRCC)

See how useful Toyota Safety Sense is for your daily commute by choosing a new Toyota car, pickup truck, or SUV from our inventory, and scheduling a test drive with the team at Pauly Toyota in Crystal Lake, IL by calling (888) 881-9212.

Posted in News, Safety